My 10 Guilty Pleasures/Obsessions

Guilty pleasures…everyone has them. Yes, even you! You know, those things you may not want to admit to everyone even though they make you happy.

With the stress of daily life it is important to allow ourselves the opportunity to indulge in our own guilty pleasures at least some of the time.

So today I bring to you a few intimate details about my guilty pleasures and how they make me who I am.

Remember…there is no judgement in the blogging sphere.

1. Grey’s Anatomy.

Grey’s Anatomy has been on TV since I was in high school. I didn’t start to really watch it until my senior year of high school going into college. I loved it so much I couldn’t wait until the seasons came out on DVD each year. I would buy it as soon as it was released and would spend every free moment the next few weeks watching all the episodes. After I watched them once I would go back and watch them again. I preferred having Grey’s Anatomy on my TV than all the other junk that people were watching. So I had it on in between class, getting ready to go out I would have it on, or just when I was sitting down to relax and watch TV. I watched Grey’s Anatomy so much that I got my best friend hooked on it and now she loves it just as much as I do.

I can admit now that my husband now likes to watch it and enjoys keeping up with the episodes with me. One day we watched one of the newer episodes and Kent learned something about one of the characters that played out in an older episode. He was a little distraught about what he discovered because it was about one of the characters he liked. So I stopped the newer episode we were watching and said ok, that’s it we are starting from the beginning. And we did. Just this past weekend, we got caught up to the season of Grey’s Anatomy that just finished on TV. So now we can get caught up and be ready to start the new season with it starts next fall.


2. Cake Batter Flavored Ice Cream.

First things first…I love ice cream! Almost any kid of ice cream will do. BUT if Cake Batter flavored ice cream is a contender then you can bet that it will be my number one choice. I will eat it mixed with gummy bears, chocolate chips, sprinkles, or my favorite cookie dough. There are nights where we have already eaten dinner, gotten comfortable and all snuggled in for the night and I just really want some ice cream, my sweet husband will hop in the car with me just to go to marble slab and get some cake batter ice cream with me. Of course he gets some to but he still does it for me.


3. Lists.

I make a list for almost EVERYTHING! Seriously. Grocery lists. Packing lists. Honey-Do lists for Kent. To do lists. Lists outlining my day. Errand lists. It’s embarrassing to say that I often times have 3 lists started at the same time. For instance, I typically have a grocery list at the house on the fridge and then I have a list I have started as I think of things at work. Then I will go home and compile the two lists into 1 list. And there you have another list. It’s a vicious cycle that I don’t think will ever stop. But it keeps me organized, or at least I think it does.


4. Gel Nail Polish.

Over a year ago I bought myself the Sally Hansen at home gel manicure kit that is sold in drug stores. I was so hesitant at first but now I am obsessed with it. I now paint my nails a new color every week and I don’t have to worry about drying time (which is THE worst and hardest part about painting nails). When this first came out there were not a whole lot of colors to choose from. BUT NOW…oh man, there are so many colors to choose from. I get excited when new colors come out and I go home to show Kent the fun new color I found. I have a collection of about probably 13 now, and they never get old.

Check out all the fun colors I have collected and love.

starter kit

greigeGreige

shell we dance Shell We Dance

wine notWine Not

silver glitterSilver Glitter

rose gold glitter Rose Gold Glitter

pink daisyPink Daisy

pink chiffonPink Chiffon

ocean sparkleOcean Sparkle

mauve maven Mauve Maven

little gold dress

Little Gold Dress

la cremeLa Creme

french manicure
French Manicure

espresso bean
Espresso Bean


5. Cheese.

I love cheese. It should be its own food group. My husband isn’t a cheese fanatic so he finds humor in my love for it. But I could eat a straight handful of cheese, cheese on crackers with pepperoni, macaroni and cheese, wine and cheese, and my absolute favorite queso. In college, my go to snack was always some fresh queso I made in my bullet blender. Now, I love when we go to Rosa’s Café Tortilla Factory for dinner because what I order for dinner is their large chips and queso; yep that’s it, just chips and queso. Sometimes I will get a chicken fajita burrito, but I mostly devour the chips and queso. Mmmm Cheese!


6. Wine.

This isn’t much of a guilty pleasure since most people who know me know that I love wine. I love red wine, white wine, but definitely NOT sweet wines. In my opinion the dryer the wine the better. But wine is something I not only like to drink but I like learning about it. I like learning about what makes wines different and unique and finding out what tastes I like and don’t like. There is nothing like coming home from a long day at work to your sweetie, pups, and a glass of wine.

Right now these are our two inexpensive go to red wines.

PicMonkey Collage

 

 


7. Potatoes.

Baked. Fried. Frenched. Mashed. Au gratin. Chips. I love potatoes. I would be perfectly content if all I ever ate was potatoes and cheese (see guilty pleasure #5). Unfortunately I don’t, because that would not be healthy, but if I could I totally would. Don’t think I haven’t thought about it.


8. Baths.

I love a good bath. Most people prefer showers because they are quick, but I love baths because you can just sit there, relax and be lazy for a moment. Sometimes a glass of wine accompanies my bath (see guilty pleasure #5) and I will just sit there for what feels like forever. Then I am relaxed and de-stressed for a good night’s sleep and whatever the next day brings my way.


9. I still have a “blankie.”

Well, it’s not technically a blankie. But it is a quilt my grandma and grandpa gave me for the birthday when I was in the 4th grade. At the time I had a white framed day bed, and this quilt had the perfect assortment of pastel colors to make my day bed complete. Well, as I grew up my bed set changed fairly often and after I no longer used it for my bed, it became the blanket I would curl up with on the couch. Now, this quilt has been broken in to perfection and is still to this day my FAVORITE blanket. This quilt keeps me warm; brings me comfort as it has for many years, and reminds me daily of my grandma and grandpa. Doesn’t get much better than that.


10. My puppy Layla.

I never really had a pet growing up. Well, my mom got me a cat one year for Christmas, it was the color of my hair and I named him Tiger. Tiger was an outdoor cat who loved wandering off for days at a time. I can’t remember how long I had Tiger for, but I don’t think it was for very long. Because of that and the fact that he wandered off all the time, I never had the chance to attach to him. Ever since Tiger I have always wanted a snuggly, loveable, fluffy pet of my very own.

When I started dating my husband, he already had a dog. His name is Fagen and he is a Doberman. I finally had a dog to love on and spoil. To this day Kent says I am the reason our tough looking Doberman is such a lover. Fagen began thinking he was a lap dog and of course I let him and I loved it until I realized I can’t keep having a 70 pound dog lay on my lap. I am a pale red head and I bruise easily. I began really wanting my own lap dog.

It wasn’t until this past August 2013 that I finally got my baby girl, Layla.

Layla is a Yorkie and we searched long and hard for her. And I am so glad that we did. She turns 1 year old on June 6th and she is the perfect combination of every quality of everything I wanted in a dog. She is a bundle of energy, she loves to run around, play with her toys, and pick on her 70 pound brother Fagen. Yet she is a soft, snuggly teddy bear who loves to give kisses. I really do believe that animals are good for humans and our health, because my mood completely changes when I see her so excited to see me after I have had a long day at work. I adore her and she makes me beyond happy.

laylaLayla
photo (1)Fagen

 

And there you have it, my 10 guilty pleasures/obsessions.

What are some of your guilty pleasures or obsessions?

One thought on “My 10 Guilty Pleasures/Obsessions

Leave a Reply

