Tribute To My Brother

As I briefly mentioned in my last post, my brother Alan Faneca has been training long and hard for a marathon. And the day has finally arrived. Tomorrow, in my hometown of New Orleans, people will gather to run 26.2 miles for the Rock N Roll Marathon and my brother will be among them.

Months ago, before I knew Alan was training for a marathon, I log in to Facebook and I see a picture of a map on his page. This map had a route of at least 12+ miles on it along with some other statistics. But my first thought was…”Hmmm that is strange, he must have an app on his phone with GPS that is still turned on and tracking him driving around town.”

So my first thought was not that he was actually running. Because I saw the number of miles this map had for the distance and I just didn’t think it was possible that he went out and just ran 12+ miles one day. It wasn’t until a week or so later that I find out that he is in fact training for a marathon and the pieces start to come together and make sense. (ahh haa!)

Now, having been an athlete in the past myself, and just being a little sister looking up to her big brother, I have always been intrigued by everything my brother does.

And we all know from my There’s A First Time For Everything post that after my couple years of college volleyball came to an end I wanted nothing to do with working out for a very very long time. So why after 13 years in the NFL,  would my brother want to train for a marathon?! I never once worked as hard as he did for all those years and I wanted nothing to do with running, exercising, and keeping fit.

But my brother, who is one of the hardest working people I know, didn’t want to take the easy way out after retirement and instead continues to amaze his little sister!

Former LSU star Alan Faneca takes on the Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans Marathon

Untitled(10 years with the Pittsburgh Steelers)

Untitled1(2 years with the New York Jets)

Untitled2(1 year with the Arizona Cardinals)

Untitled3(After a cold game in New York)

7623_1108268477137_7774639_n(In Houston after the Jets vs. Texans game in 2010)

389344_3106517912124_1260295710_n(My graduation from Texas Tech University in 2012)

600674_10200111243374060_616427808_n(My Wedding on March 2, 2013)

So this post is in honor of him and all of his accomplishments. I am so proud of you Alan and love you more than a little sister can say!

Good Luck tomorrow!!

signature 3

Leave a Reply

