Let’s Catch Up

A lot has happened in the past three weeks, so I think it is time we catch up on what has been going on for us. Especially in regards to training for our half-marathon.

So, I had been researching for something that could guide me through the half-marathon training process, and with my brothers help I found this app called Gipis. (This is a really cool app.) It first off has training programs you can choose from a 5K all the way to a Marathon. It asks some questions about your previous activity and based off of that and the date of your race, it will create a training program for you to follow. You also get to choose what days during the week to run on. This app will track your route, your distance, your time, it has a pace for you to stick with and if you are going faster or slower than the pace they suggest a voice command will tell you to run faster or slow down. Does it get more dummy proof than this??

On another note I have a pretty funny story from our first attempt at funny, and might I add we had good intentions. We woke up at 5:30AM to go run before we had to get ready for work. It took me about 15 minutes to get all my layers on and mentally prepare for what I was about to do and Kent patiently waited for me throughout this process. We stepped outside and I looked at him with a shocked look on my face because IT WAS COLD! A chill to the bone cold! I looked at Kent and said I am not running in this. He thought I was kidding and chuckled at me. Needless to say we went back inside and crawled back in bed for the next 30 minutes until we had to get ready for work.

This meant that we HAD to start our running that afternoon. We ran a mile through our neighborhood in about 11 minutes. I know I know, I have a long way to go, but I do want to brag on myself that even though it had been years since I had done anything remotely close to running a mile…I ran the whole time! Huge accomplishment for me! (*pat on the back*)

I was so sore the next day at work that every time I had to get out of my chair for something my level of soreness had skyrocketed.  So we got home from work the next day we ran our same mile (and yes I ran it the whole time again!) in order to get some of the soreness out of our system.

At this point, just getting outside and being active was a huge accomplishment for me. And I knew that if this half-marathon was going to happen I at least needed to get into the habit of being active when I needed to be, even if I was only just running the same mile each day.

Already by the second week of running, I felt a HUGE jump in my endurance. I felt so good and felt like I could run 30 minutes instead of the 15 minutes like the week before.

Here is where it gets so frustrating! During our second week of running, I start having this pain and tightness on the outside of my right leg from my ankle up to my calf. It hurts so bad that it hurts my foot to move it while running (an essential function to running…right?) So on a day where I felt good enough endurance wise to run for 30 minutes, I couldn’t run that long because my stupid ankle and leg were hurting me.

I stretch it out after our run and then I give it a try the next day. The same exact thing happened and on this day I could barely run what I had done the day before.

Here comes the break down!

I start bawling my eyes out because I am so mad and frustrated because I actually want to run and I actually want to improve to running more than 15 minutes and reach my goal of a half-marathon but because I am in so much pain I can’t run more than 15 minutes. Kent does his best to calm me down yet I am still obviously upset. He helps me get situated with icing my ankle and calf off and on for the remainder of the evening. What a great husband I have.

While I am still in pain to this day when I run, I look back on my breakdown and laugh at the fact that in the second week (yes only the second week) of training for a half marathon (which isn’t until May) I am already having a breakdown. There is no telling what Kent is up against once we get further into this process!

Is this my body telling me that I need to stop and that running just isn’t for me? Besides taking pain medicine, icing, stretching, resting, and avoiding expensive medical bills, what else is there to be done that can help? Have you ever experienced this pain from running before?

If you know what I am talking about then you understand how frustrating and discouraging this is.

But here I go…getting my run in for the day.

Until next time!

signature 1

One thought on “Let’s Catch Up

  1. I certainly don’t have any running advice, but I love that you aren’t letting the roadblocks stop you from pursuing something new. Postpone, maybe, but stop, never!

Leave a Reply

